Author Topic: background checks  (Read 2888 times)

seniorgeek

• Life Member
background checks
« on: May 03, 2016, 07:50:25 PM »
I just called the background/fingerprint division of the State Police to inquire on getting a DE background check and report.
The cost is $52.50 for the check and verified copy of the background check.

Now the reason for inquiring, I am a Professional Tennis Official and PA passed a laws that all people that work with children in any formal capacity under the age of 18 must have 3 checks.
1. A report from the state police called a "Criminal background Check".
2. A report from the PA state department of human services called "Pennsylvania Child Abuse History Certification".
3. A FBI or your resident state background check if you are not a PA resident.

I have the first 2 and they were easy to get. As I stated above it will cost me $52.50 the get the DE check or I can submit my fingerprints to the FBI and wait (who knows how long) for the federal background check which costs $35.00.

Our background check for our permits is not good enough for PA. I have DECCW, PA LCTF, CO CCWP, and Utah. One would think that this would be acceptable, DE police and Lancaster Sheriffs office say no as the background check done for our permits was for that purpose only.

I have 2 choices, do not officiate in PA or get the FBI or DE check. PA will accept the DE background check.

I guess I am out more money to work in PA. I do a lot of tournaments in PA so I have no choice.
The money I receive from officiating is my "fun" money i.e. ammo, firearms, etc.

OK, off my soapbox now.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
NRA Member
Combat Veteran
Southeastern Sussex County

greymas

Re: background checks
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2016, 08:09:56 PM »