Author Topic: Question about Maryland respect for FOPA  (Read 4674 times)

NOVA1

Question about Maryland respect for FOPA
« on: August 18, 2013, 06:29:08 PM »
Hello everyone.  I am a resident of Virginia but since my in-laws have a house in Delaware, I do visit often.  I have both a Virgina CHP (with Delaware reciprocity until 12/13) and a Utah CCP (also a Delaware reciprocity jurisdiction).  In order to get from VA to Delaware, I must pss through a large part of Maryland, which always makes me nervous.  I am always careful with confirming to the provisions of 18 USC 926A (the FOPA), which means that my pistol is unloaded and locked in a portable gun safe in the back of my Ford Explorer.  I keep my magazines empty and locked away with any ammo in a separate locked container.

My question- has anyone had to rely upon the FOPA in Maryland?  Do the Maryland police respect the provisions of this federal statute?  I am sure that any prosecution would be thrown out as I am careful to adhere to the requirements but I would hate to be arrested while I am traveling from VA to Delaware with my wife and two young daughters.  Since Delaware is a fairly small state and bordered by MD, I am sure DE carriers need to rely on the FOPA with frequency.  Any real world experience would be helpful.

glockblocker

Re: Question about Maryland respect for FOPA
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2013, 06:44:34 PM »
Let's just say that when I travel to MD, I just leave my weapon home as they suck for their gun laws.  Sorry that's the best I have for ya, like you said, I would hate to get stopped and arrested in from of my family!!

Radnor

• Administrator
  • Life Member
  • New Castle Co.
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2013, 01:21:03 AM »
I think you'd be ok.  I travel to camp that is in Md.  I stop before the check point, unload and run a cable lock through it and proceed.
NRA Certified Instructor and Training Counselor