Author Topic: Carrying in the Car?  (Read 13440 times)

Pete D.---

• NRA Member
Carrying in the Car?
« on: August 20, 2010, 03:48:28 PM »
Hi all, I'm new to all of this, and just want to get a clear understanding of how to carry in my car. I know that before I had my permit, I had to either carry open in plain site, or locked away, unloaded, from easy reach.

Can I now carry concealed in the car? If it's in plain site, does it need to be unloaded? If its in a locked safe, can it still be loaded and near my reach?

Thanks for any help, Pete D.---
"This food fights back!" Myke Hawke Peirce

Sigarms12

• deccw.com founder
  • Life Member
Re: Carrying in the Car?
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2010, 05:27:40 PM »
With your permit you can carry concealed in your car, you can keep it on yourself or loaded in your car.
" An armed society is a polite society"
I not sick, I'm twisted. Sick makes it sound like there's a cure.

Pete D.---

• NRA Member
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2010, 01:32:03 PM »
Thanks Sig- I've been searching the net for a quick and easy answer and couldn't find one- yours was both and very appreciated! Pete D.--

Pete D.---

• NRA Member
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2010, 06:48:20 PM »
I'm curious to know: 1. how others carry in the car- seems like IWB might be rather uncomfortable and slow to draw from a belted seat. Also, 2. what do others use in the car to store the gun? Safe bolted to the floor, locked glove box, or something else?  And 3. ever have trouble transitioning the gun from CC to locked in the car with people around? I'd like to know what other's methods of doing this might be. Thanks, Pete D.---

oldgraygeek

• Life Member
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2010, 07:32:43 PM »
I wear a Safepacker. If I'm going on a long trip, I put it on the seat belt.
"She's petite, extremely beautiful, and heavily armed."
--Sheriff Bud Boomer, Canadian Bacon

Moosie

• Life Member
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2010, 07:55:00 PM »