Author Topic: Question Regarding Possession of a firearm in a Safe Recreation Zone  (Read 1179 times)

Seth

So I have been reading up on the "relatively" new law regarding possession of a firearm in a Safe Recreation Zone.

https://delcode.delaware.gov/title11/c005/sc07/index.html#1457

And I am looking for some guidance. I am an engineer and not a lawyer so to those more well versed in law please forgive my ignorance, but am I correct in understanding that as a holder of a CCW permit I can legally carry in areas that would be defined as a Safe Recreation Zone?
DE - PA - MD CCW

"But, for the grace of God, go I."

Just Bill

• Life Member
Re: Question Regarding Possession of a firearm in a Safe Recreation Zone
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2023, 08:55:32 PM »
I read. does not apply to CCW permit...unless in a vehicle.
NRA Cert. Instructor Pistol/Rifle/Shotgun
NRA Lifer
NRA RSO
DE/PA CCDW permits
AGI certified gunsmith--Cowboy Action/1911/Glock/rifle/pistol/shotgun/rimfire
AGI Firearms Appraiser/FFL 01
AGI certified Master Gunsmith

Oaklandopen

« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2023, 09:23:52 PM »
I think basically it stays in your vehicle.  IE you're picking your kids up and staying in your car,  although it has to be locked up.  Total mind job..... you can have your tool, but you won't be allowed to easily get to it if needed

Seth

« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2023, 02:10:17 PM »
So saw the part about staying in the vehicle for the safe school zone (1457A), but I don't see that as part of the safe recreation zone (1457).

§ 1457. Possession of a firearm in a Safe Recreation Zone; class D, E, or F felony; class A or B misdemeanor.

(a) Any person who commits any of the offenses described in subsection (b) of this section, or any juvenile who possesses a firearm and does so while in or on a “Safe Recreation Zone” shall be guilty of the crime of possession of a firearm in a Safe Recreation Zone.

(b) The underlying offenses in Title 11 shall be: