Author Topic: School zone/Campus?  (Read 24993 times)

Thlax

School zone/Campus?
« on: January 30, 2011, 03:04:31 AM »
I'm a student at UD and wanted to know where I may and may not carry around school? I would never take my firearm to class, however I am wondering if I may be allowed to walk on Main St with it while concealed? What is the more detailed law on schools/school zone/campus?

Thanks!

Moosie

• Life Member
Re: School zone/Campus?
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2011, 12:32:29 PM »
With regards to schools you have to worry about two things: the FEDERAL law (Gun Free School Zone Act) that prohibits you from carrying a firearm within 1000' feet of a school. You are, however, EXEMPT from this if you have a license from the state in which the school resides, e.g. Delaware CCDW is exempts you from Delaware Schools. PA LTCF exempts you from PA schools, etc.

The section in the Delaware Criminal Code that penalizes carrying a firearm in a school zone actually takes effect ONLY if you are concealing without a license. If you're concealing with a license, or open carrying with a license, that'll cover you with regards to both state and federal law. You could technically open carry without a license and be within Delaware law, but you'd be violating Federal law.

The Post Office (and Federal property) is prohibited under Federal Law... google for that.

A Court House, Prisons, Police Stations are considered "Detention Facilities" and firearms are considered "contraband" and are, thus, verboten in these types of locations.

Any other public property (except state forest, state parks and lands controlled by Fish and Wildlife) should be lawful for you to carry a firearm.

Moosie
"Americans have the right and advantage of being armed - unlike the citizens of other countries whose governments are afraid to trust the people with arms." (James Madison, The Federalist Papers)

Southern Kent County Resident

oldgraygeek

• Life Member