Author Topic: UD/Main Street Carry  (Read 15169 times)

generalzip

UD/Main Street Carry
« on: April 12, 2011, 05:58:19 PM »
First the facts:
1. I am a legal resident of Jersey that spends the summers in Newark, DE
2. I have a FL non-resident concealed carry permit

Question:

Would it be legal for me to carry on UD's campus/mainstreet? Is UD considered a primary or secondary education facility under the current federal school zone act? I am not a student at UD. As I currently understand it if I were a resident of DE and had a DE CCW I would be permitted to carry on school campus' and be exempted from federal law. However, the issue is I'm not a resident of DE with a  DE CCW. Thanks in advance.

GunEnvy

• Life Member
  • NRA Life Member
Re: UD/Main Street Carry
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2011, 10:15:13 PM »
The safe school act only pertains to k thru 12 schools, higher education facilities are not included. On a side note....since you reside in delaware for part of the year you might want to look into if you can get a delaware resident ccdw. I imagine it would depend on many things such as if you own or rent or stay with someone and if you can prove residence such as with bills and the like. I know its possible for a part time resident to purchase handguns in their part time state with such proof.....just a thought
Honey I swear I've had that gun for years!

generalzip

« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2011, 02:46:30 AM »
Thanks! Yea I live at my gf's for a few weeks and rent her friend's apartment at UD for 2 months.

Thlax

« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2011, 05:40:53 AM »
With the deccw and not being a student you can carry on main street and on campus...

But me being a student limits me only to carry on main street and not campus...

I don't get the law sometimes. Especially when the ones who take guns into schools and shoot are not following the law, why can't I carry on campus to protect myself.

generalzip

« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2011, 03:52:27 PM »