Author Topic: Best 9MM Defense Round  (Read 11932 times)

lems902

Best 9MM Defense Round
« on: September 29, 2013, 03:43:16 AM »
I'm still pretty new to defensive firearm use - so I wanted to know what everyone things the BEST 9MM defense round is.  And do you have a different preference for your CCW gun and a dedicated home defense gun?

Thanks so much!
New Castle County
NRA Patron Life Member
NRA Basic Pistol Instructor
DE/PA/FL CCDW permits

Adrenolin

• Life Member
Re: Best 9MM Defense Round
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2013, 04:49:12 AM »
Most of today's more common 9mm, 40s&w & 45acp hollow point defensive rounds are pretty much on par with each other. Take your pick of Speer Gold Dots, Winchester Rangers, Golden Sabre, Federal HST, etc. Weights range between 115gr through to 147gr typically and it doesn't matter which you pick. It used to be pick the heavier round however with the advancements in the last few years its now about nill. Any of the common stuff will do the job. I stay away from newer stuff that hasn't been around long like the 50gr 9mm defensive rounds. Just don't trust them yet. Also Frangible Ammo is not something I'd suggest either. My opinion is all.. take it or leave it. :)

The absolute best thing would be to pickup a couple boxes of each defensive rounds and shoot them in your own firearm. Works great in 5000 Glocks, Walthers, S&Ws might shoot like junk in that #5001 you just bought. Each gun is different so buy a box and shoot them. Next range trip buy a different brand and give them a try and see how they work for you. If its a new firearm put a couple hundred rounds of range ammo (not reloads!) through it first then add in the defensive rounds.