Author Topic: Moving to DE  (Read 4983 times)

orangehole

Moving to DE
« on: May 08, 2009, 07:09:09 PM »
I am a PA resident and I am thinking of moving to DE. The lower property taxes and zero sales tax would allow me to buy a bigger house. I already own my PA and FL ccw but I am concerned about the Delaware process. I am not very happy to place my name in a newspaper. Isn't that like a big neon sign that says come rob my house because I have a gun. Also the 5 person in-county recommendation might be difficult. I do not know many people in Delaware and even though I do know some, I am not particularly fond of letting all of them know I even own a handgun. Does the questionnaire ask "How long have you known the applicant?" I have no problem with any fee or training course/qualification but the newpaper thing and recommendations bothers me. How do they deal with people who have no acquaintances in Delaware?

Moosie

• Life Member
Re: Moving to DE
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2009, 07:45:24 PM »
So, lower taxes (our taxes are going up btw) and the zero sales tax attracts you to Delaware?  Not sure how much you've read about our little screwed up state, but before you start to think about your carry permit, read the headlines at www.delawareonline.com for the next few weeks.  If I could get my husband to move, I would be outta here. BUT... to answer your question, yes, the application does ask how long they have known you.  You cant avoid the newspaper ad, although you can advertise in some smaller placed depending on where you would live.  Im sure they'd still want references who live in your county to be able to really vouch for you... not just that you've been their neighbor for the last 4 days, :)