Author Topic: New CCW, potential problems?  (Read 11009 times)

Kh5249

New CCW, potential problems?
« on: December 20, 2015, 09:06:32 PM »
I have been a resident of Delaware for about two years and have applied for a CCW.  In 2001, I received a conviction of possession of switchblade in Los Angeles county, where I am from.  I paid a fine.

Do you believe this will prevent or hinder me from getting a CCW issued in Delaware?  Thanks in advance.

SturmRugerSR9

• Life Member
  • Made in America
Re: New CCW, potential problems?
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2015, 10:49:05 PM »
Switchblades are illegal in Delaware. That being said, since it's been 14 years ago and, I am assuming ,  a low level crime with no time served, you may be ok. But there is only one way to make sure. Call The Attorney Generals Office in your county (NC/Kent/Sussex) and ask them. Don't be afraid to go to the horses mouth. They will be the people that make that decision. If you apply without checking and get turned down, you do not get your money back. Then your only thing to do would be to appeal it, at additional expense. Phone calls are free.
I'D RATHER HAVE A GUN IN MY HANDS, THAN A COP ON THE PHONE!

I reserve the right to not be perfect.

PROTECT THE 1ST AND 2ND AMENDMENT!

DECCW Permit Holder
Former PA (non-resident) Permit Holder
NRA Member
USAF Veteran
Kent County
Former Lobbyist
Christian/Conservative
I cling to my GOD and my gun

Radnor

• Administrator
  • Life Member
  • New Castle Co.
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2015, 11:45:44 AM »
Since it says you HAVE applied, you'll know in about 6 months.

Since it was so long ago, I think you will be ok.
Keep us informed please.
NRA Certified Instructor and Training Counselor
CRSO, Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun, Personal Protection In and Outside The Home, Home Firearm Safety, & Reloading.

Knowledge, skills, & experience have value. If you expect to profit from someone's you should expect to pay.

Lumspond

• Life Member
  • NRA life member