Author Topic: Reloading 223  (Read 3262 times)

563jack

Reloading 223
« on: September 14, 2017, 12:50:43 AM »
OK, I've been reloading 9mm, 38 special and 357 for several years. I've reloaded over 5000 rounds so I feel its time to try something a little more complicated. Reloading 223 sounds like it could be fun, sounds exciting from what I read about it. My first question would be is it cheaper to buy 223 ammo on line or would it be cheaper to reload. Has anyone on this site ever worked up a price for reloading 223 vs buying them? Reloading 9mm I can make a box of 50 for $6.00/box. Cheapest I saw on line is $10 to $12 per box of 50. I collect shells at the range to keep the price down.

Added expenses for 223 reloads would be buying a case trimmer and de-buring tools and a 4 die reload set along with small rifle primers, gun powder, and bullets.   Any ideas or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Cbmarine

• Life Member
  • III Marine Amphib Corps. My dad’s shoulder patch
Re: Reloading 223
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2017, 03:56:09 AM »
A case gauge may be needed to verify that the case hasn't bulged during crimping. Assuming that the cartridges will be fired in an AR-15 which lacks the camming force of a bolt action rifle. I had adjust the crimping very precisely to avoid bulging. Another pain is the full case lubing before resizing followed by wiping the case dry afterwards.
Although slow, it is comforting to have the supplies on hand in case we have another ammo shortage.
Just a smelly deplorable dreg of society clinging to God and guns.
New Castle County
_..  .  _._   _..  ..._ _  .  ._.

Radnor

• Administrator
  • Life Member
  • New Castle Co.
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2017, 12:09:43 PM »
Well.....  You can still make it for less, just like your pistol ammo.

Sources are: Nachez & Cabelas

NachezCabelas
Bullet.08.12
Primer.03.03
Powder.07.10
Total.19.25
Buy RTS.29.40
  Ready To Shoot