Author Topic: Handgun laws in other states  (Read 2831 times)

Packing_Nine

Handgun laws in other states
« on: January 23, 2019, 11:06:13 PM »

I understand this is a Delaware oriented forum. However, with several of the recently introduced bills getting based on existing Maryland law, I do not think it inappropriate to study these laws of our neighboring states. Maryland's position on handgun ownership is quite restrictive. They have an "Approved Handgun Roster". If it isn't on the roster, you are not permitted to purchase said handgun in Maryland. I believe it is only illegal to purchase (or offer for sale, or manufacture) handguns on the list. I don't think it is illegal to possess them, such as might happen in a grandfather or a new resident type situation. But, I am not a lawyer. Do your own research.

Approved Handgun Roster:
https://licensingportal.mdsp.maryland.gov/MSPBridgeClient/#/home

One might think that an "Approved Roster" would be sufficient, but Maryland goes as far as to publish a "Banned List". You would assume this is for what they consider to be the truly serious offenders, those firearms so nefarious that they must be outlawed, regardless of the circumstances (grandfather, new resident, etc). Instead, the Banned List states that these handguns are those which are specifically excluded from the Approved Roster. Kind of like, "We're tired of you asking about this one. No, it's not on the list. No, we won't add it. Don't ask us again."

Banned List:
https://mdsp.maryland.gov/Organization/Documents/Banned%20List.pdf