Author Topic: Concealed carrying in Newark, DE  (Read 4241 times)

ChrisCar

Concealed carrying in Newark, DE
« on: August 16, 2015, 08:19:20 PM »
As some of you know, I received my permit two weeks ago; I'm still new to carrying, so please forgive my ignorance.  I'll be going to dinner in Newark later this week and would like to carry (concealed, of course).   I know Newark has some unique ordinances, so I just want to be sure I'm clear.

I'll be going to a restaurant, then likely strolling along Main St.  From what I can tell, I should be fine; but I would welcome the collective wisdom of the Forum in case I'm missing something.

For example, I have no intention of entering any University buildings, but what if we inadvertently wander onto Univ property?  Is that a problem?  Seems like the school owns half the town, and I don't want to become a felon just because I walked down the wrong block. 

Thanks in advance. 
New Castle County
DE CCDW,  PA LTCF,  UT CFP
NRA Benefactor Member
DSSA Member

Cbmarine

• Life Member
  • III Marine Amphib Corps. My dad’s shoulder patch
Re: Concealed carrying in Newark, DE
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2015, 10:34:57 PM »
Not familiar with Newark ordinances except that communities are pre-empted from making their own gun laws (Dover is grandfathered in prohibiting open carry without a letter from the police chief). They have a parks law that is probably invalid but is a caution.

Re UD, shouldn't be a concern unless you are a student in which case the university rules apply.  See this thread for more info. 
http://deccw.com/index.php?topic=3546.0
Just a smelly deplorable dreg of society clinging to God and guns.
New Castle County
_..  .  _._   _..  ..._ _  .  ._.

SturmRugerSR9

• Life Member
  • Made in America
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2015, 11:08:21 PM »
The street and sidewalks are public property of the citizens of Newark. But, like we always say, Concealed, means Concealed, so how would anyone know.